Coverart for item
The Resource The promise of home : a Mill River novel, Darcie Chan

The promise of home : a Mill River novel, Darcie Chan

Label
The promise of home : a Mill River novel
Title
The promise of home
Title remainder
a Mill River novel
Statement of responsibility
Darcie Chan
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "Writing in the tradition of Jan Karon and Maeve Binchy, New York Times bestselling author Darcie Chan returns readers to Mill River, the charming town whose residents experience surprises and sorrows, witness acts of goodwill and kindness, embrace family love and friendship--and uncover age-old secrets and heartaches. These days, Mill River, Vermont is a hub of activity. Karen Cooper and her son bid a temporary farewell to husband and father Nick, off to Saudi Arabia to work as a contractor. But when he goes missing Karen turns to the beloved nonagenarian priest Father O'Brien for counsel. Kyle Hansen and Claudia Simon blissfully prepare for their wedding--until a part of Kyle's past arrives in town and shakes up their solid romance. Emily DiSanti, still haunted by a tragedy that tore her world apart a decade ago, is renovating the old McAllister mansion, eager to restore it to its former beauty and to find peace in the intense workload. All of these lives--and the lives of others in this sleepy small town--move forward, bump up against one another, and intertwine. But when a cache of hidden letters is discovered, a decades-old secret comes to light--one that is rooted deeply in the childhood of the longtime resident who has touched the lives of everyone in town, and that will change his own life in a powerful and unexpected way. Praise for Darcie Chan's The Mill River Redemption "An enchanting storyteller, Chan is one of those rare authors who makes you feel more fully alive."--Elizabeth Letts, author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion "An engrossing page-turner [with] sympathetic and relatable characters."--Library Journal Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--
  • "Mill River cop Kyle Hansen and teacher Claudia Simon are excitedly planning their wedding. When they learn that a new bed and breakfast is set to open in the old McAllister mansion, they hope the gifted Emily DiSanti will quickly restore it to its grandbeauty. While refinishing the hardwood floors, Emily discovers a secret compartment and a mysterious briefcase. Inside, she finds years of correspondence between the reclusive Mary McAllister and her close friend--the town priest Father O'Brien's late mother, Anna O'Brien. Through the letters, Emily learns about the surprising relationship between Mary and Anna and a secret that will change everything for Father O'Brien. Karen Cooper, lives in town with her eight year old son, Nick. Her husband took a job as a government contractor in Afghanistan, and has been missing for a year. As Karen struggles with depression and Nick begins to have trouble at school, Father O'Brien is enlisted to offer his guidance, particularly for Nick, whose situation feels all too familiar"--
Member of
Summary
Restoring a Mill River mansion in the hopes of opening a bed-and-breakfast, Emily discovers a cache of letters revealing intimate secrets about an ancestor of Father O'Brien, who is helping a mother and son with a missing family member in Afghanistan
Tone
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10416119
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Chan, Darcie
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3603.H35558
LC item number
P76 2015
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
A Mill River novel
Series volume
[3]
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Interpersonal relations
  • City and town life
  • FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • FICTION / Sagas
  • FICTION / Psychological
Target audience
adult
Label
The promise of home : a Mill River novel, Darcie Chan
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Series numeration from NoveList
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
20385613
Dimensions
21 cm.
Extent
399 pages
Isbn
9780345538246
Lccn
2015022668
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn911004771
  • (OCoLC)911004771
Label
The promise of home : a Mill River novel, Darcie Chan
Publication
Copyright
Note
Series numeration from NoveList
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
20385613
Dimensions
21 cm.
Extent
399 pages
Isbn
9780345538246
Lccn
2015022668
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn911004771
  • (OCoLC)911004771

Library Locations

    • Pike County Public Library - Winslow BranchBorrow it
      105 Center St., Winslow, IN, 47598, US
      38.38308 -87.217424

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...